Without a vision, the people perish.
Proverbs 29:18
 
FOR PEOPLE AND PLANET

EVENTS

FAITHINVEST EVENTS

Wed 29  June, 10:30 New York, 15.30 London, 14.30 Paris, 17.30 Nairobi, 20.00 Delhi

Q&A Session for the Livable Future Investing Workshop: A leadership workshop for asset stewards 

Organised by the Francesco Collaborative in partnership with FaithInvest

This one-hour Q&A session will provide more information about the Livable Future Workshop, planned for October 2022, a three-week online course with an optional in person gathering at a later date. The Livable Future  workshop will introduce frameworks rooted in Catholic Social Teaching (CST) to multiple asset classes – from public equities to alternatives. We also introduce some of the leading edges of CST-embodied investing – from non-extractive finance to cooperatives, catalytic capital to lasting ESG impact. This initiative is not a Catholics-only effort nor is it denominational, says the Francesco Collaborative: 'We believe the principles of Catholic Social Teaching offer a universal framework to help guide our efforts to build the solidarity economy, and ultimately a livable future for people and planet.'

REGISTER HERE

Wed 13  July, 10:30 New York, 15.30 London, 14.30 Paris, 17.30 Nairobi, 20.00 Delhi

Q&A Session for the Livable Future Investing Workshop: A leadership workshop for asset stewards 

Organised by the Francesco Collaborative in partnership with FaithInvest

This one-hour Q&A session organised by our partner the Francesco Collaborative  is to provide more information about the Livable Future Workshop, planned for October 2022, a three-week online course with an optional in person gathering at a later date. The Livable Future  workshop will introduce frameworks rooted in Catholic Social Teaching (CST) to multiple asset classes – from public equities to alternatives. We also introduce some of the leading edges of CST-embodied investing – from non-extractive finance to cooperatives, catalytic capital to lasting ESG impact. This initiative is not a Catholics-only effort nor is it denominational, says the Francesco Collaborative: 'We believe the principles of Catholic Social Teaching offer a universal framework to help guide our efforts to build the solidarity economy, and ultimately a livable future for people and planet.'

REGISTER HERE

Check out our archive of events below
Visit our webinar catch-up page to watch recordings

2022 EVENTS ARCHIVE

For recordings of our webinars, visit our webinar catch-up page.

FaithInvest Global Investment Forum

12 May - Central London

17 May - New York City

19 May - Chicago 

26 May - Dublin (includes a preview of the Living Laudato Si' online resource and inspiration space)

Join FaithInvest’s annual Member gathering of Faith-based Asset Owners as we focus on developing and implementing solutions for faith-consistent investing and impact investing programmes. Topics will include:

  • Practical solutions for advancing faith-consistent investing – The bottlenecks and barriers to get from where you are to where you want to be.

  • Impact Investing – From mainstream products to grass roots projects

This will be an opportunity to ENGAGE with FaithInvest and peers, SHARE priorities and set common goals, and INTERACT with the broader faith-aligned investment community. This event is for faith-based asset owners.

26 May 2022, online

Faith-Consistent Investing:
Living Laudato Si'

Preview of the Living Laudato Si' online resource and inspiration space

Online: 09.30 New York | 14.30 London | 16.30 Nairobi
This FaithInvest Global Investment Forum event engages Catholic institutions in a conversation around investing in line with Laudato Si'. Co-hosted by FaithInvest in collaboration with AMRI, An Tairseach, the Laudato Si’ Movement, Laudato Si’ Action Platform and USIG JPIC Commission, is an invitation to institutional investors across the world, to engage in a conversation about moving assets in line with Laudato Si’. This afternoon forum event will be broadcast on Zoom.

5 May 2022, online

Faith Plans Workshop 4: Faith and Food, transforming the global food system

Our Faith Plans programme linked up with partner EAT to hold this workshop on faith and food. Every faith celebrates food as a gift of the Divine and teaches that we must feed the hungry. But food also has a critical role in many of the huge challenges facing us, including climate change, environmental destruction, poverty and a rapidly growing global population. How can we produce food more sustainably while also improving both the amount and quality of food available to the poorest? What role can faiths play in transforming our global food systems? 

Speakers:​

  • Olav Kjørven, Senior Director of Strategy, at Faith Plans partner, EAT

  • Sara Kaweesa, Director at A Rocha Uganda, and Faith Plan participant  

  • Becky O’Brien, Director of Food and Climate with Faith Plans partner, Hazon

WATCH THE RECORDING

21 April 2022, online

Humanity Rising Day 460

Integral Ecology in Action: Pope Francis' call to the Laudato Si' Action Platform.

WATCH THE RECORDING

3-6 April 2022, Lassalle Institut, Switzerland

Invitation only

FaithInvest Strategic Retreat

FaithInvest hosied an invitation-only strategic retreat at Lassalle Haus in Switzerland. This was a closed event.

Wednesday 30 March 2022, online

Faith Plans Workshop 3: Faith Plans and faith-based tree growing

This webinar was part of our Faith Plans programme and has been organised by our partner WWF's Beliefs & Values Programme. It focused on tree planting to meet both religious and conservation goals, with practical guidance on how to include tree planting/ growing in your Faith Plan. Speakers included:​​

  • Chantal Elkin: Head of WWF’s Beliefs & Values Programme

  • Iyad Abumoghli: Director, UNEP Faith For Earth Programme

  • Rev Rachel Mash: Secretary, Anglican Communion Environmental Network, South Africa 

  • Supreet Kaur: President (India), EcoSikh

  • Tom Barasa Wafula: Leader of Kenya faith tree growing project

  • Laura D’Arcy: Head of Trillion Trees Programme

WATCH THE RECORDING

22 March 2022, online

The unique Daoist understanding of the climate crisis

07.30 New York | 12.30 London | 13:30 Paris | 15:30 Nairobi | 18.00 Delhi

Organised by the Manchester China Institute, FaithInvest CEO Martin Palmer discusses how in 2009 the Daoists launched their first eight-year plan to combat climate change and address biodiversity issues. In China's most recent Five Year Plan, Daoists have been given a central role in civil society programmes on environmental education and action – the first time any faith has been highlighted in any of the Five Year Plans.

16 March 2022, online

Roundtable: What is a Just Transition? Philosophy, Process and Fund proposals

 Our roundtable discussion, delivered by the World Bank Climate Investment Funds and hosted in conjunction with FaithInvest, will focus on Just Transition structures, built on faith-consistent investing principles. These principles integrate positive environmental and social outcomes at acceptable risk-adjusted return levels, as a significant and relevant way to mobilise capital to address environmental and related crises.

  • FaithInvest and CIF are working together to co-create a fund for the faiths, with the faiths.

  • This is an invitation-only event for faith-based asset owners.

 

 

03 March 2022, online

 Member working group: Faith-Consistent Investing 

The FCI working group focuses on:

  • Helping asset owners root their investment policies and guidelines in faith-based principles

  • Designing solutions to help asset consultants, managers and other service providers better align their services and solutions to faith-consistent investing principles addressing the needs and of faith traditions.

This is a Members-only event; however, if you are interested, please email Investment Solutions Officer Mathew Jensen.

01 March 2022, online

UNEA 5.2: Faith for Earth Dialogue Session – Local Challenges, Local Solutions: Faith Groups for Climate Action 

08:00 New York | 13:00 London | 14:00 Paris | 16:00 Nairobi | 18:30 Delhi

FaithInvest Director of Movement Building Lorna Gold joins the United Religions Initiative, in collaboration with the UNEP Faith for Earth Initiative, to lead a dialogue session at the Fifth Session of the United Nations Environment Assembly (UNEA-5), which runs from Feb 21 to March 4.

MORE INFORMATION

28 February 2022, online

UNEA 5.2: Faith for Earth Dialogue Session – What the world expects from FBOs and what we should do 

11:00 New York | 16:00 London | 17:00 Paris | 19:00 Nairobi | 21:30 Delhi

Well organised and mobilised, the religious sector could become one of the most effective forces to address the climate and environmental crises. FaithInvest CEO Martin Palmer joins a panel of speakers including Fletcher Harper of GreenFaith, Yonatan Neril of the Interfaith Center for Sustainable Development, Chantal Elkin of WWF and Jakir Manela of Hazon, moderated by Rev Susan Hendershot of Interfaith Power and Light. Organised by UNEP's Faith for Earth Initiative at the UN's Environment Assembly (UNEA-5).

WATCH WEBINAR

Friday 21 January 

Faith-based Investment Conference: Scaling-up Opportunities and Partnerships

2022 faith-based investment conference aiming to initiate a shift in the fast-growing movement of faiths and of their role and actions in investments aligned with their values. Organised by Geneva Agape Foundation, it is co-hosted by the World Council of Churches and the World Evangelical Alliance’s Business Coalition. 

Thursday 20 January 

How to develop a Faith Plan: Early lessons for long-term success

Discussion-based workshop for exchange and learning, with guidance from contributors who have already developed a Faith Plan or who are currently in the early stages of doing so. Includes:

  • Key processes involved in developing a Faith Plan  

  • Essential elements of what a 'good' Faith Plan looks like

  • Support and resources to help you

 WATCH WEBINAR 

16 December 2021, 19:00 London 

Faiths Rising: Climate action beyond COP25

FaithInvest's Faith Plans team and guests reflect on what next for climate action post-COP26. We will hear how the faiths are major stakeholders in the planet, and how faiths around the world are creating Faith Plans designed to realign their assets – investments, land, building, educational and medical institutes and their lifestyles – as part of our Faith Plans programme. Speakers include:

  • Dr Lorna Gold – Director of Movement Building with FaithInvest

  • Rev Susan Hendershot – President of Interfaith Power and Light

  • Allen Ottaro – Catholic Youth Network for Environmental Sustainability in Africa

  • Gopal Patel – Bhumi Global

Wednesday December 1, 09.00 EST (New York)
The Investment Implications of Combining Faith-Values with ESG Screening:
Learnings from Islamic Investing

The modern environmental, social and governance (ESG) investing movement developed out of socially-responsible investing strategies with their origins in aligning investment with faith principles. However, can today's systematic ESG be combined with faith-based screening in effective yet faith-consistent portfolios? In this webinar, FaithInvest co-partners with the Responsible Finance & Investment (RFI) Foundation, who will present findings from a detailed empirical analysis of Islamic investing and ESG.

PARTNER MEETING:10-14 January, online

Big Bold Jewish Climate Fest

This year's theme is building a movement by investing in solutions and shifting away from systems, practices and ways of thinking that perpetuate climate destruction and inequity. FaithInvest's Dr Lorna Gold spoke in the session entitled 'Navigating Local Resources and Connections to Take Action', on  January 12 at 12.00-1.20pm EST.

PARTNER MEETING: 14-16 January, Residential and Zoom 

Climate Crisis

FaithInvest CEO Martin Palmer will join the Othona Community in West Dorset for Climate Crisis, a residential and online event which explores some of the most pressing questions of our time and, in particular, asks" 'What can we do?' He will speak about FaithInvest's Faith Plans programme and the faiths’ influence globally.

PARTNER MEETING:16 January, Online

Daring to Hope: Faith and the Struggle for Climate Justice

FaithInvest's Director of Movement Building Lorna Gold gives the annual Memorial Lecture at this event organised for Peace Sunday by the Archdiocese of Liverpool's Justice & Peace Commission. There will be a Q&A afterwards.